Skip to Main Content


Foundation's Walker Endowed Scholarships Awarded

Kayleigh Abbott of Forrest City and Stacie Jackson of Wynne have been named as the recipients of the EACC Foundation’s George P. and Alice H. Walker Endowed Scholarship for the fall 2017 semester.

The Walker family came to St. Francis County in about 1900 and started a farming operation.  George Walker continued that family business until his death.  Mrs. Walker was very active in the First United Methodist Church, serving for years as a Sunday school teacher.  She was the first woman to serve on a grand jury in this state.

Because of the caring attention given members of this family, especially in their final days, this scholarship is dedicated to the support of students at EACC pursuing a degree in an Allied Health field.  It is expected that these students will become practicing health care professionals and provide care for many others over their lifetime.

Abbott is currently enrolled in the Nursing program at EACC.  After completing her degree, she plans to continue her education to become a nurse practitioner and work in women’s health.   “I am so thankful to be the recipient of this scholarship,” said Abbott.  “It is a huge blessing and I look forward to finishing my degree at EACC and becoming a nurse,” she added. 

Jackson is also enrolled in the Nursing program at EACC and is on track to graduate at the end of the spring 2018 semester.  After graduating, she plans to continue her education to pursue a Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree and an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse degree.    “I am very thankful to the Walker family for this scholarship,” said Jackson. “These funds will allow me to complete my degree and pursue my lifelong dream of working in the medical field and helping others to my fullest potential,” she added. 

The Walker endowed scholarship is awarded to a full-time sophomore student with a minimum GPA of 3.00 on all coursework to date.

The East Arkansas Community College Foundation is a tax-exempt 501(c) 3 organization that is dedicated to uplifting, enhancing and improving the effectiveness, quality, and scope of East Arkansas Community College through fundraising and other financial support.

Walker PR sm.JPG
Scholarship recipient Kayleigh Abbott, Wesley Walker, Walker family representative, and Stacie Jackson


East Arkansas Community College

Social Media Hub