Skip to Main Content


EACC Gallery Presents Small Works on Paper Touring Exhibit

The EACC Gallery presents the touring exhibition, Small Works on Paper.  The exhibit, sponsored by the Arkansas Arts Council, will run through Friday, January 27th. 

Thirty-six works will be featured in this year’s exhibition that will travel to ten galleries throughout the state in a yearlong show.  East Arkansas Community College’s Gallery will be the exhibition’s first stop.  An opening reception and gallery talk is scheduled for Sunday, January 8th from 2:00 – 4:00 p.m.  The reception is free and open to the public. 

Now in its 30th year, the annual Small Works on Paper exhibition showcases artwork no larger than 18 x 24 inches by Arkansas artists who are members of the Arkansas Artist Registry, an online art gallery coordinated by the Arkansas Arts Council that showcases the artwork of Arkansas artists.  The selected work is chosen by an out-of-state juror, who also selects pieces for purchase awards. This year’s entries were juried by David Houston, executive director of The Bo Bartlett Center at Columbus State University’s College of the Arts in Columbus, Georgia.  Five artists were selected by Houston to receive purchase awards.  Purchase award winners included Sandy Barksdale and J.P. Bell of Fayetteville, Kristin DeGeorge or Hot Springs, Leah Grant of Arkadelphia, and Daniella Napolitano of Little Rock.  Purchase award winners receive the cash amount equivalent to the value of their selected works. Funded by entry fees, the purchase award pieces become part of the exhibition’s permanent collection.

The Arkansas Arts Council was established in 1966 to enable the state of Arkansas to receive funds from the National Endowment for the Arts. In 1975, the Arts Council became an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage.  As an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, the Arkansas Arts Council shares the goals of all its agencies, of preserving and enhancing the heritage of the state of Arkansas. Funding for the Arkansas Arts Council and its programs is provided by the state of Arkansas and the National Endowment for the Arts. 

The Arts Council advances and empowers the arts in Arkansas by providing services and funding for programming that encourages and assists literary, performing and visual artists in achieving standards of professional excellence.  In addition, the Arts Council provides technical and financial assistance to Arkansas arts organizations and other providers of cultural and educational programs. 

The Gallery is located in the EACC Fine Arts Center at 1700 Newcastle Road in Forrest City.  Daily hours for the Gallery are Monday-Thursday from 10:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. and Fridays from 10:00 a.m. until 12:00 p.m., or as scheduled for special group tours. There is no charge for admission.  For more information, call 870-633-4480, ext. 352.


Ahlen_John_Entry1Whispers.JPG StarkJason_ThePrincessTree.jpg
 “Whispers” by artist John Ahlen of Little Rock  “The Princess Tree” by artist Jason Stark of Osceola


East Arkansas Community College

Social Media Hub