Skip to Main Content


Foundation Awards George P. and Alice H. Walker Scholarship

Dawn Murray of Forrest City has been named as the recipient of the EACC Foundation’s George P. and Alice H. Walker Endowed Scholarship for the fall 2016 semester.

The Walker family came to St. Francis County in about 1900 and started a farming operation.  George Walker continued that family business until his death.  Mrs. Walker was very active in the First United Methodist Church, serving for years as a Sunday school teacher.  She was the first woman to serve on a grand jury in this state.

Because of the caring attention given members of this family, especially in their final days, this scholarship is dedicated to the support of students at EACC pursuing a degree in an Allied Health field.  It is expected that these students will become practicing health care professionals and provide care for many others over their lifetime.

Murray is currently enrolled in the EMT-Paramedic program at EACC.  After completing her degree, she plans to work in the healthcare field as a paramedic as she continues her education.    “This scholarship is such a blessing, and I am very honored to be chosen as the recipient of such a great award,” said Murray.  “I appreciate Walker family and the opportunity they have provided so that I can continue my education,” she added.

The Walker endowed scholarship is awarded to a full-time sophomore student with a minimum GPA of 3.00 on all coursework to date.

The East Arkansas Community College Foundation is a tax-exempt 501(c) 3 organization that is dedicated to uplifting, enhancing and improving the effectiveness, quality, and scope of East Arkansas Community College through fundraising and other financial support.

East Arkansas Community College

Social Media Hub