Skip to Main Content


EACC Foundation Awards Dr. Ben T. Whitfield Scholarship

Paige Cullum of Forrest City has been named as the recipient of the EACC Foundation’s Dr. Ben T. Whitfield Endowed Scholarship for the fall 2016 semester. 

The Dr. Ben T. Whitfield scholarship was established by his wife, Adell Whitfield in honor his memory and in support for education which was such an important part his life. The scholarship is dedicated to assisting a first-time entering college student at EACC who plans to attend as a full-time student.

Dr. Whitfield served as the interim college President at East Arkansas Community College from August 1998 to June 1999. A long time educator in Arkansas, Dr. Whitfield was the founding President of South Arkansas Community College in El Dorado, Arkansas and also served in various positions at West Arkansas Community College (now University of Arkansas at Fort Smith).

After graduating from EACC, Paige Cullum plans to attend Arkansas State University to pursue an education degree and become an elementary school teacher.  “I am overwhelmed with thankfulness to the EACC Foundation for granting this scholarship to me,” said Cullum.  “I am grateful to all of those who work so hard to help students like me,” she added. 

East Arkansas Community College

Social Media Hub