Skip to Main Content


Phi Theta Kappa Induction Ceremony

EACC's chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society recently held its new-member induction in the Lecture Hall on the EACC campus.  PTK member Ethan Eidt and Christy White, EACC faculty member and chapter advisor, served as guest hosts and presenters for the event. Dr. Cathie Cline, EACC President, provided a welcome to the students and guests.

Phi Theta Kappa is an international honorary society that bases its acceptance of members solely upon their academic achievement. Scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship are hallmarks of Phi Theta Kappa members.

To be eligible for membership, students must have a GPA of 3.5 or higher and have completed at least 12 hours of coursework leading to an Associate Degree. The EACC chapter of PTK is Beta Zeta Gamma.

Established by Missouri two-year college presidents in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievements of two-year college students. PTK provides opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming. PTK is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.3 million members and 1,200 chapters located in the United States, U.S. Territories, Canada, and Germany.

In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized PTK as the official honor society for two-year colleges.

PTK 2023 PR.jpg

Front row from left: Isabella Carden, Margaret Ishmon, Zoe Mathes, Dr. Cathie Cline, Brianna Parson, Danielle Terry, and Jodi Wright.

Back row from left: Annisha Franks, Aiden Grizzle, Kaylie Hill, Devin Wright, Kyle Wright, Jessika White, Nathan Vaughn, and Erika Threat.

East Arkansas Community College

Social Media Hub