Skip to Main Content


EACC receives ACDS Innovative Community Development Award

EACC's Commercial Driver Training program was named the recipient of Arkansas Community Development Society's Innovative Community Development Program/Project Award.  The award recognition was announced during the Arkansas Community Development Society's conference awards ceremony held on Thursday, March 31st at the University of Central Arkansas. 

The Innovative Community Development Program/Project Award was presented to EACC's Commercial Driver Training program for its innovation and success in implementing a creative approach to meet community and industry needs in the area.

"It is such an honor for EACC to be recognized with this award," said Dr. Cathie Cline, President at EACC.  "We are proud to be acknowledged for our unique solutions in providing training and education to meet workforce needs such as the state's truck driver shortages," said Dr. Cline.

EACC's Commercial Driver Training high school program was created through a partnership between EACC and Forrest City High School. Students earn both high school and college credit, receiving a Certificate of Proficiency in Commercial Driver Training, and are ready to be employed upon graduation from high school and passing the CDL licensure test.

"We created the new high school program pathway in an effort to meet job demand.  The commercial driver shortage continues to impede our economic growth," said Robert Summers, EACC Vice President for Vocational, Occupational, and Technical Education.  "We are confident that the model we developed at EACC will be part of the solution and we expect other schools to follow our lead soon," he said.

The Arkansas Community Development Society is a non-profit organization that advances and empowers community development professionals and change leaders by facilitating the exchange of their ideas, best practices and available resources.

AR Comm Development Award 2022.jpg

Photo from left: Whitney Horton, President of ACDS, Dr. Cathie Cline, EACC President, Robert Summers, EACC Vice President for Vocational, Occupational, and Technical Education, and Samantha Evans, Recording Secretary of ACDS

East Arkansas Community College

Social Media Hub