Skip to Main Content


EACC Students Inducted into Phi Theta Kappa

The East Arkansas Community College chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society recently held its new-member induction in the Lecture Hall on the EACC campus.  PTK members, Jerry Stegall, and Celine Hooker, served as guest hosts for the event. Dr. Coy Grace, EACC President, provided a welcome to the students and guests, and Dr. Janie Bailey, Vice President for Academic Affairs, presented congratulatory remarks.

Phi Theta Kappa is an international honorary society that bases its acceptance of members solely upon their academic achievement. Scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship are hallmarks of Phi Theta Kappa members.

To be eligible for membership, students must have a GPA of 3.5 or higher and have completed at least 12 hours of coursework leading to an Associate Degree. The EACC chapter of PTK is Beta Zeta Gamma.

Established by Missouri two-year college presidents in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievements of two-year college students. PTK provides opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming. PTK is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.3 million members and 1,200 chapters located in the United States, U.S. Territories, Canada, and Germany.

In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized PTK as the official honor society for two-year colleges.

EACC faculty member, Christy White, serves as the EACC chapter advisor for Phi Theta Kappa.

Photo- From left to right: Amber Wolfe, Randi Ross, Alexandria D. Rawls, Haley Parson, Haley Little, Ariel Fletcher, and Alex Christianson.
Not pictured: Shana Bell, Tyler Dallas, and Jenna Martin


East Arkansas Community College

Social Media Hub