Campus News

EACC’s Outstanding Staff and Distinguished Teaching Award Recipients Named

April 17, 2014

East Arkansas Community College

Press Release-Photo Attached

Forrest City-East Arkansas Community College recently announced the recipients of the EACC Distinguished Teaching Award and the Outstanding Staff Award at the Annual Awards Ceremony for faculty, staff and students. The event was held in the EACC Fine Arts Center Auditorium.

The EACC Foundation provides the awards each year to honor dedicated faculty and staff and to recognize outstanding job performance. Both awards were presented by Dr. Dale Morris, Chairman of the EACC Foundation.

Niki Jones, Fine Arts Center Manager and Director of Development, was the recipient of the 2014 Outstanding Staff Award. This award is presented yearly to an EACC employee who manifests outstanding job performance, attitude and willingness to go “that extra” mile for the good of the College.

Her nomination form states: “Niki is one of the most influential and positive advocates for the College and the Fine Arts Center.  Her strong interpersonal skills and willingness to go above and beyond have contributed to her popularity and respect from co-workers, students, donors, community members, and other supporters of the College.  Her role in the growth and success of the Fine Arts Center coupled with her ability to foster and build relationships with supporters of the College contribute to her exemplary job performance.”

One colleague stated, “She has a unique way of making each person with whom she comes in contact feel important and special. I am influenced and encouraged each day by her positive nature and welcoming spirit.” 

Eric Baker of Forrest City was the recipient of the 2014 Distinguished Teaching Award. This award is presented each year at the end of the spring semester to one EACC faculty member for his or her “Excellence in Teaching” and service to students. Baker’s nomination form stated that he cares deeply about the integrity of his teaching and of the College. “He is always willing to lend a hand to take on extra responsibilities. His students remark upon his high standards.  He is always available to students who want extra help and will spend as much time with them as they are willing to spend.” 

One colleague suggested, “Learning first describes this faculty member.  He takes extra time to communicate with students’ other instructors so that they may work toward the goal of providing each student with the instruction he or she needs based where he or she is in the learning process.”  “He has a quiet and steady way that reflects his dependable nature.”

The award winners will also be honored during the annual Arkansas Association of Two-Year Colleges (AATYC) convention to be held in Hot Springs in October.

Photo of Niki Jones and Eric Baker

Photo:  Award recipients Niki Jones and Eric Baker in the EACC Fine Arts Center’s Art Gallery.

Back to Campus News

East Arkansas Community College
1700 Newcastle Road
Forrest City, AR 72335
Phone - (870) 633-4480 FAX - (870) 633-7222

Copyright 1998 - 2012 East Arkansas Community College unless other credit explicitly given