Campus News

Area ACTM Math Contest Winners

March 10, 2014

East Arkansas Community College-Forrest City

Press Release- Photo Attached

The annual Arkansas Council of Teachers of Mathematics State High School Mathematics Contest (ACTM Math Contest) was held Saturday, March 1st at East Arkansas Community College in Forrest City. Students from area high schools and junior high schools were registered for the competition in the subjects of Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, Trigonometry/Pre-calculus, and Calculus. First, Second, Third, and Honorable Mention awards were recognized at the competition

East Arkansas Community College is a regional site for ACTM testing and the event has traditionally been held at EACC. The regional winners that placed 1st, 2nd or 3rd will be invited to advance to the state-level competition to be held at the University of Central Arkansas in Conway on April 26th.

The regional contest director was Dennis Smith, EACC math/science faculty member.

Photo of austin Nelson

From Brinkley High School: Austin Nelson-Algebra I  2nd Place,


From Forrest City Junior High School (from left): Jacob Main-Algebra I  3rd Place and FCJHS Math Teacher Drew Vaccaro


From Forrest City High School (from left): Jacqueline Arroyo-Geometry 2nd Place, Roth In-Calculus 2nd Place, Zachary Honey-Geometry 3rd Place


From Lee Academy: Lucas Whittenton-Geometry 1st Place


From Wynne High School (from left): Ruth Crawford-Algebra II 2nd Place, Anna Mears-Algebra II 3rd Place, DeAndre McGill-Algebra II 1st Place, Lauren Williams-Calculus 1st Place, Bryce Melton-Pre-Calculus/Trigonometry 1st Place, Hannah Semonds-Calculus 3rd Place, Dalton Yates-Algebra I  1st Place





Back to Campus News

East Arkansas Community College
1700 Newcastle Road
Forrest City, AR 72335
Phone - (870) 633-4480 FAX - (870) 633-7222

Copyright 1998 - 2012 East Arkansas Community College unless other credit explicitly given