Social Science Department

Mission Statement

The mission of the Social Science Department is to support the college in its endeavor to provide a quality educational experience for individual development and to improve the general community. Within its context, the Department has a major responsibility to provide students with a strong and central foundation of knowledge creation in the social, behavioral, and policy sciences with emphasis placed on the learning process and outcomes.


Degrees and Certificates Offered

The Social Science Department offers a wide variety of courses in the following academic disciplines:

  • Anthropology
  • Childcare
  • Criminal Justice
  • Education
  • Geography
  • History
  • Philosophy
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Religion
  • Social Science
  • Sociology



East Arkansas Community College
1700 Newcastle Road
Forrest City, AR 72335
Phone - (870) 633-4480 FAX - (870) 633-7222

Copyright 1998 - 2012 East Arkansas Community College unless other credit explicitly given